Authors' Spotlight

Interview with author Jasminetea Après-midi | author interview

It is my pleasure to host author Jasminetea Après-midi on my blog today. Her book “Prisoner of Love: The Pillowbook of Amelie” is available for purchase now on Amazon.

What inspired you to write “Prisoner of Love: The Pillowbook of Amelie”?

I wanted to write a romance novel about a main character that has brown skin and curly hair like me.

Can you describe the journey of creating the character of Amelie?

I wanted to write a main character that’s a girly girl the complete opposite of me because it fits the romantic atmosphere of the story.

The novel explores the complexities of cultural differences in relationships. What challenges did you encounter while portraying this theme, and how did you navigate them?

I did a lot of research on intercultural communication and read blogs and watched videos of interracial couples on youtube to help with writing a believable story and I researched a lot of Japanese history

When was “Prisoner of Love: The Pillowbook of Amelie” published?

The book was published on 3/27/2024

How long did it take you to write the book?

I wrote the first two chapters in 2011 so this has been a long journey, I started writing the rest of the story on the weekends in 2019 and I let a couple guy friends read it and they liked it so I really felt like this story should be shared because it’s a love story that both men and women can enjoy.

PURCHASE: Prisoner of Love: The Pillowbook of Amelie

The title, “Prisoner of Love,” suggests a certain captivity within the context of affection. Could you elaborate on the significance of this title and how it relates to the narrative?

Yes I was brought up religious and I felt like a wife is her husbands property due to the ideologies of the church I went to, this story was created during a time when I was sexually repressed and was taught that good girls don’t have sex outside of marriage because its seen as bad so I wrote a story about Amelie and Kakeru coming together and exploring what they like together but he does respect her wishes and waits until after marriage to have sex. The concept of captivity is essential to the story because the story plays with power plays like she punishes him for spying on her at the beginning of the story and there’s a lot of consent on their wedding night when they consummate their marriage which I find important.

What do you do when you’re not writing?

I like to listen to music, go to Kpop concerts and watch deep dive documentaries in my spare time

Are there any new projects or upcoming books you’re excited to share with your readers?

Yes the next book is going to be the sequel to the first story and I plan on publishing more stories I wrote in college.


Jasminetea Après-midi is a captivating romance novelist based in Tennessee, where she finds inspiration in the lush landscapes and rich history of the region. With a passion for storytelling and a love for weaving tales of love and passion, Jasminetea crafts enchanting narratives that transport readers to worlds filled with romance and intrigue.
Inspired by her love of Japanese and French history, Jasminetea is a connoisseur of history and fashion, often infusing her novels with elements of past eras and timeless elegance. Her deep appreciation for the beauty of the past reflects in the intricate details and vivid settings she creates for her characters.

In her leisure time, Jasminetea enjoys immersing herself in the vibrant world of Kpop concerts, where she finds joy and inspiration in the music, performances, and energy of the Kpop scene. This blend of cultural interests adds a unique flair to her creativity, enriching her writing with diverse influences and perspectives.

With each novel, Jasminetea Après-midi invites readers on a journey of romance, adventure, and discovery, leaving them eagerly anticipating her next captivating story.

Connect with Jasminetea at:

Instagram

Leave a comment