Authors' Spotlight

AN INTERVIEW WITH AUTHOR LORI A. CALBERT | AUTHOR INTERVIEW

This week it is my pleasure to interview author Lori A. Calbert.

Me: Have you always wanted to be a writer?

Lori: YES, ever since I was a child I enjoyed it, but never thought about it as a career.

Me: What made you pen down this series?

Lori: My experiences in New York, I realized how sheltered I had been about myself and race.

Me: You write about very pivotal topic but amalgamate humor with it. Why and how do you do it?

Lori: Because it was curious when certain things happened to me. I just couldn’t understand. So when you look back, it’s so funny.

BIG TIME PEOPLE

Me: What inspired your story-line?

Lori: My life during and after college in New Yofk. I was this sheltered virgin. And then I wasn’t. realized  there are a lot more options in what you can do with your life than my parents told me. I wanted to do everything creative.  And I did . I do music, writing, singing / songwriting. See my videos for songs I wrote and performed except the rap but I will be adding my vocals soon.

Me: What do you like to do when you are not writing?

Lori: Listening to music and writing , thinking up new ideas to put into the  new installment of life of bougie.

FERNANDO

Me: Describe yourself in three words?

Lori: Charismatic, creative, loving

Me: What should readers expect from the book?

Lori: A good time. An escape from all the mess outside. A reflection upon themselves and how they want  to live their lives and how they judge people.

Me: Tell is about the journey to getting published.

Lori: It was annoying and I’m not sure I was comfortable with the money situation. I really want your readers to let me know when they buy my book. I want to keep track.

Me: Are there any new projects underway?

Lori: Yes, my third book and I am focusing on officially putting out my tracks for purchase.


This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is image-19.png

My name is Lori A. Calbert and I wrote a series based upon my life called, Life of Bougie: Bougie in New York and Bougie in Korea.  I am an African American woman who has a lot of say about race, class, and sex, but in a humorous way.  One is strict fiction and the other is fiction /non-fiction.

.


Find Lori on:

Blog|Instagram|Podcast| Facebook|Youtube

Leave a comment