Authors' Spotlight

INTERVIEW WITH AUTHOR TYMEKA CONEY|AUTHOR INTERVIEW

It is my pleasure to host author Tymeka Coney on my blog today.

Me: Did you ever think you’d end up writing a book?

Tymeka: No.. Initially I never sought out to be an Author, but as a writer…It certainly makes sense that I would become one as it naturally evolved. I wrote my 1st book 9 years ago, “Words Unspoken: Volume I-Deeper Than Eyes Can See.” It was a book of poetry as I started out writing poetry. That was my first experience as an Author and 9 years later I was afforded more time to write as a result of the Pandemic and I definitely had something to say about Racism that is presently making an impact in the world.
I never thought I would write a Children’s book either, “ I Don’t Like Racism.” I truly enjoyed the experience and looking forward to my next one.

Me: What made you pen down this book?

Tymeka: I had to write this book because I wanted to make a positive contribution to the world on the subject of racism. I didn’t go protest but in the book, my character goes on a peaceful protest and I just really wanted to tell the story of racism through the eyes of our young people and how it affects them and their view of racism in the world and how they can also evoke positive change for our adults.

Me: Do you remember your first encounter with racism?

Tymeka: I’ve had so many encounters with racism in the community and in the work place etc., but my most traumatic and memorable experience was when I experienced racism and police brutality first hand from several police. I was on my way to the beach and a motorcycle cop pulled me over and after giving him my Driver’s License information, he thought it necessary to still try and pull me out of my car and then called for back up and before I knew it, I was being forced out of my car with several Caucasian police officers surrounding me and pulling on me and I yelled for help but people just drove by. They later found out that I was innocent after further research and that I had provided the police with the correct information but at that point I had went through the whole humiliation of police brutality and being forced out of my car etc..for no apparent reason but racial profiling. When it came time to go to court, the police said that the tape from the cameras on the police car had unravelled. (This is the shortened version of the story). I’m just happy that I can talk about it and use my voice to stand against racism and police brutality and that I am not another statistic.

Click here for Autographed copies of the book and ‘I Don’t Like Racism’ Merchandise.

Me: Tell us something about DaNyla.

Tymeka: DaNyla is the lead character in the book, “I Don’t Like Racism.” She is a young African-American girl who witnesses her older adolescent cousin succumb to police brutality and this takes her on a journey to better understand racism at school, at home with her parents and in her community. Despite what she sees, she still chooses to love all of her multicultural friends and chooses to lead a peaceful protest, pray and hope for a better future. The story is told through her eyes and shows that she realizes that she still has value in the world as a young African-American girl despite the color of her skin.

Me: How important do you think it is important to sensitize children about racism?

Tymeka: It is important to sensitize children about racism because they need to be aware of it and know how to recognize it when they see it. They also need to know the history of it and it’s impact in the world present day. Children also need to learn that they have value and it should not be based on the color of their skin but by the content of their character. They need to know that they can dream and be anything they desire to be in life and their race does not affect their dreams and when they happen to experience racism because they are aware of what it is and have an understanding, then they can react to it in a positive way. Children should be aware that racism does exist but they can still choose to love everyone despite the color of their skin and they can also stand up for what’s right when someone tries to judge them based on the color of their skin. Racism is very important for children to be aware of because it is indeed a reality that does exist and children need to be self aware as they grow up and face real life situations.

Me: Describe yourself in three words.

Tymeka: TLC- Tenacious, Loving and Creative.

Me: Why is it important for children to develop the habit of reading?

Tymeka: It is important for children to develop the habit of reading because reading is fundamental. Children are our future and they can learn and be exposed to so many topics and interests and they can start to develop their innate talents and abilities and become our future leaders and they can recognize their values and what they have to contribute to the world at an early age and certainly to follow them into adulthood where they will be well versed human beings. Our childhood shapes who we become as adults. The more you read…the more you know and the more you grow. “Knowledge is Power,” at any age.

Me: Are there any new projects underway?

Tymeka: I’m currently writing songs. I’m also completing screenplays and in the process of pitching them so you may see them on the big screen or TV screen one day. I’m also a playwright and of course I will certainly write another Children’s book. I have a Volume II book of Poetry to come and a book of Quotes/wisdom.
I’m always writing.


Tymeka Coney is an actress, producer, director, playwright, poet, songwriter,voiceover and now activist with the release of her new children’s picture book, “I Don’t Like Racism,” which was inspired by the police brutality she has witnessed in the world and first hand. Tymeka’s first book was “Words Unspoken: Volume I-Deeper Than Eyes Can See,” poetry book released in 2011. She also has a Spoken Word album, “Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Dreams,” available on Amazon and her recent extended single “COVID 19- Social Distancing,” also on Amazon.

She was born and raised in Dallas, Texas, and now resides in Los Angeles, California where she gives back to the community by teaching young people how to read and write and acting.
Tymeka Coney graduated from DeSoto High School in DeSoto, Texas, as Class Favorite. She holds an Associate of Applied Arts degree from K.D. Studio Actor’s Conservatory in Dallas, Texas, where she received a partial scholarship for her talents. Tymeka graduated in three years with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology/English- Dramatic Writing from Texas Tech University in Lubbock, Texas. While attending Texas Tech University, Tymeka was a DJ/On Air Radio Personality for 88.1 FM College Radio Station and Kiss 102.3 FM Radio Station. Tymeka was also crowned “Miss Black and Gold” and “Most Talented,” for penning an original monologue in the pageant honoring the late Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. She is also a member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

Her poems have been featured in Los Angeles magazines-Rolling Out Magazine, Melt Magazine and Los Angeles Sentinel.

Tymeka is also an Entertainment Entrepreneur as she is a woman of many talents. http://www.tymekaconey.com She currently runs an Indie production company- Meek Entertainment & PR for TV, Film, Live Stage Events & other media where she stays busy consulting clients in PR & Production along with her producing partner Lemo Coney III and they also run an annual film festival to provide opportunities for other filmmakers called -Mind Film Festival. http://www.mindfilmfestival.com Tymeka is also Manager & Co-Founder of a Music Collective for other songwriters, singers and musicians.

She continues to inspire others through her writing/entertainment bringing awareness to social change as she has done as a playwright with several plays that have brought awareness to domestic violence, breast cancer, suicide, menopause etc. Tymeka realizes it is a part of her life’s mission to continue to rally around important causes like racism and other social change and continue to use her platform for the greater good of all mankind and excel the lives of others spiritually, mentally and emotionally through Arts and Entertainment to make an impact in the lives of others throughout the world.


Find Tymeka on:

Facebook|Instagram

Leave a comment